Add a review of "The City & the City"
authorAlex Chan <alex@alexwlchan.net>
Wed, 7 Oct 2020 16:49:57 +0000 (17:49 +0100)
committerAlex Chan <alex@alexwlchan.net>
Sun, 11 Oct 2020 23:12:00 +0000 (00:12 +0100)
src/covers/the-city-the-city.jpg
src/plans/the-city-the-city.md [deleted file]
src/reviews/2020/the-city-the-city.md [new file with mode: 0644]

index f6d8c06..ce4fd88 100644 (file)
Binary files a/src/covers/the-city-the-city.jpg and b/src/covers/the-city-the-city.jpg differ
diff --git a/src/plans/the-city-the-city.md b/src/plans/the-city-the-city.md
deleted file mode 100644 (file)
index 27de47b..0000000
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,11 +0,0 @@
----
-book:
-  author: China Mieville
-  cover_image: the-city-the-city.jpg
-  publication_year: '2009'
-  title: The City & The City
-plan:
-  date_added: '2020-01-25'
----
-
-Recommended by David Z and Rae
diff --git a/src/reviews/2020/the-city-the-city.md b/src/reviews/2020/the-city-the-city.md
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..b1ba1f6
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,23 @@
+---
+book:
+  author: China Miéville
+  cover_image: the-city-the-city.jpg
+  isbn13: '9781509870585'
+  publication_year: '2009'
+  title: The City & the City
+review:
+  date_read: 2020-10-07
+  format: paperback
+  rating: 5
+plan:
+  date_added: '2020-01-25'
+---
+
+This was a gift from Mum; bought on the recommendation of [Rae](https://twitter.com/RaeKnowler) and [David](https://twitter.com/zarkonnen_com).
+
+Two European cities, Besźel and Ul Qoma, which occupy the same space but whose residents are careful never to see each other.
+The book follows police inspector Tyador Borlú investigating the murder of a foreign student.
+
+I really enjoyed this, and I paced myself reading it to last longer.
+Gripping story, fascinating concept, and interesting commentary on how we train ourselves to "unsee" things in the real world.
+I definitely want to read more of this author's work.