books.alexwlchan.net
6 weeks agoAdd an entry for "Cosmogramma" development
Alex Chan [Sat, 4 Dec 2021 09:20:48 +0000 (09:20 +0000)]
Add an entry for "Cosmogramma"

6 weeks agoFix a bug in the tint colour code
Alex Chan [Sat, 4 Dec 2021 09:20:21 +0000 (09:20 +0000)]
Fix a bug in the tint colour code

7 weeks agomore aggressive caching and lazy imports
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Dec 2021 08:24:30 +0000 (08:24 +0000)]
more aggressive caching and lazy imports

7 weeks agodo the sync manually rather than shelling out to rsync
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Dec 2021 08:14:32 +0000 (08:14 +0000)]
do the sync manually rather than shelling out to rsync

7 weeks agoThrow a caching layer in front of the Markdown parsing
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Dec 2021 08:11:28 +0000 (08:11 +0000)]
Throw a caching layer in front of the Markdown parsing

7 weeks agofix a css issue on narrow screens
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Dec 2021 07:51:01 +0000 (07:51 +0000)]
fix a css issue on narrow screens

7 weeks agoremove a script I never use
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Dec 2021 07:44:33 +0000 (07:44 +0000)]
remove a script I never use

7 weeks agospeed up deploys
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 22:42:34 +0000 (22:42 +0000)]
speed up deploys

7 weeks agoAdd an entry for "The Box in the Woods"
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 22:41:33 +0000 (22:41 +0000)]
Add an entry for "The Box in the Woods"

7 weeks agodefer a bunch of expensive imports
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 22:22:58 +0000 (22:22 +0000)]
defer a bunch of expensive imports

7 weeks agouse the hex strings for colours
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 22:18:26 +0000 (22:18 +0000)]
use the hex strings for colours

7 weeks agoOnly fetch the templates when we use them
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 21:47:27 +0000 (21:47 +0000)]
Only fetch the templates when we use them

7 weeks agoStart putting the tint colour in the book metadata
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 21:47:21 +0000 (21:47 +0000)]
Start putting the tint colour in the book metadata

7 weeks agomore idiomatic use of pathlib.Path.exists()
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 21:26:31 +0000 (21:26 +0000)]
more idiomatic use of pathlib.Path.exists()

7 weeks agoonly render pages that have changed
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 21:25:53 +0000 (21:25 +0000)]
only render pages that have changed

this cuts the render time by ~50%

7 weeks agorun black over the render_html script
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 21:19:11 +0000 (21:19 +0000)]
run black over the render_html script

7 weeks agoMove the models into a different file
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Dec 2021 21:10:58 +0000 (21:10 +0000)]
Move the models into a different file

7 weeks agoWe only need to fetch the review template once
Alex Chan [Sat, 27 Nov 2021 11:56:06 +0000 (11:56 +0000)]
We only need to fetch the review template once

7 weeks agoSwitch to using htmlmin, ditch bs4
Alex Chan [Sat, 27 Nov 2021 11:53:53 +0000 (11:53 +0000)]
Switch to using htmlmin, ditch bs4

7 weeks agoAdd an entry for "The Hand on the Wall"
Alex Chan [Sat, 27 Nov 2021 11:23:30 +0000 (11:23 +0000)]
Add an entry for "The Hand on the Wall"

7 weeks agoUse my new tool for computing tint colours
Alex Chan [Sat, 27 Nov 2021 11:13:39 +0000 (11:13 +0000)]
Use my new tool for computing tint colours

7 weeks agoAdd missing dependencies to requirements.in
Alex Chan [Sat, 27 Nov 2021 11:03:44 +0000 (11:03 +0000)]
Add missing dependencies to requirements.in

2 months agoAdd an entry for "Truly Devious"
Alex Chan [Sat, 20 Nov 2021 20:24:44 +0000 (20:24 +0000)]
Add an entry for "Truly Devious"

2 months agoAdd an entry for "The Apollo Murders"
Alex Chan [Thu, 18 Nov 2021 22:56:18 +0000 (22:56 +0000)]
Add an entry for "The Apollo Murders"

2 months agoAdd an entry for Truly Devious
Alex Chan [Tue, 16 Nov 2021 23:43:48 +0000 (23:43 +0000)]
Add an entry for Truly Devious

2 months agoAdd an entry for "Model Railways"
Alex Chan [Thu, 11 Nov 2021 09:36:03 +0000 (09:36 +0000)]
Add an entry for "Model Railways"

2 months agoAdd a quick entry for Codebreaker
Alex Chan [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 08:00:58 +0000 (08:00 +0000)]
Add a quick entry for Codebreaker

2 months agoAdd a quick entry for "Bure Valley Recollections"
Alex Chan [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 07:10:09 +0000 (07:10 +0000)]
Add a quick entry for "Bure Valley Recollections"

2 months agolet's make this a five-star book
Alex Chan [Thu, 4 Nov 2021 14:47:20 +0000 (14:47 +0000)]
let's make this a five-star book

2 months agotweak the tint colour
Alex Chan [Sun, 31 Oct 2021 21:46:29 +0000 (21:46 +0000)]
tweak the tint colour

2 months agomake sure there's enough space for editor metadata
Alex Chan [Sun, 31 Oct 2021 21:04:02 +0000 (21:04 +0000)]
make sure there's enough space for editor metadata

2 months agoadd non-breaking spaces to the html
Alex Chan [Sun, 31 Oct 2021 21:03:46 +0000 (21:03 +0000)]
add non-breaking spaces to the html

2 months agoAdd an entry for "Your computer is on fire"
Alex Chan [Sun, 31 Oct 2021 21:03:36 +0000 (21:03 +0000)]
Add an entry for "Your computer is on fire"

2 months agoline breaks
Alex Chan [Fri, 29 Oct 2021 06:57:08 +0000 (07:57 +0100)]
line breaks

2 months agoadd another line
Alex Chan [Fri, 29 Oct 2021 06:56:23 +0000 (07:56 +0100)]
add another line

2 months agoAdd an entry for "Poison for Breakfast"
Alex Chan [Fri, 29 Oct 2021 06:49:44 +0000 (07:49 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Poison for Breakfast"

2 months agobetter handling of the Content-Type header
Alex Chan [Sun, 24 Oct 2021 11:09:39 +0000 (12:09 +0100)]
better handling of the Content-Type header

2 months agohandle an author's name that contains 'and'
Alex Chan [Sun, 24 Oct 2021 11:09:32 +0000 (12:09 +0100)]
handle an author's name that contains 'and'

2 months agoAdd an entry for "Written in the Stars"
Alex Chan [Sun, 24 Oct 2021 11:09:25 +0000 (12:09 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Written in the Stars"

3 months agoAdd a couple of backlinks
Alex Chan [Tue, 19 Oct 2021 05:40:36 +0000 (06:40 +0100)]
Add a couple of backlinks

3 months agoDon't show a star rating if I didn't finish a book
Alex Chan [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 20:37:50 +0000 (21:37 +0100)]
Don't show a star rating if I didn't finish a book

3 months agoAdd the latest Moomin book
Alex Chan [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 20:37:41 +0000 (21:37 +0100)]
Add the latest Moomin book

3 months agoAdd an entry for "Abandoned America"
Alex Chan [Thu, 7 Oct 2021 06:45:47 +0000 (07:45 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Abandoned America"

3 months agoAdd an entry for "The Backwater Sermons"
Alex Chan [Sun, 3 Oct 2021 15:48:23 +0000 (16:48 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Backwater Sermons"

3 months agoAdd an entry for "Surviving the Storms"
Alex Chan [Sun, 26 Sep 2021 14:26:44 +0000 (15:26 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Surviving the Storms"

3 months agoAdd an entry for "The Distant Hours"
Alex Chan [Sat, 25 Sep 2021 16:33:31 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Distant Hours"

3 months agoAdd an entry for "Resilient Management"
Alex Chan [Sat, 25 Sep 2021 15:59:24 +0000 (16:59 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Resilient Management"

4 months agoget a higher-res thumbnail for "Think Black"
Alex Chan [Tue, 7 Sep 2021 21:21:54 +0000 (22:21 +0100)]
get a higher-res thumbnail for "Think Black"

4 months agoAdd a review for "Think Black"
Alex Chan [Tue, 7 Sep 2021 21:19:19 +0000 (22:19 +0100)]
Add a review for "Think Black"

4 months agoAdd an entry for "Small Bodies of Water"
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Sep 2021 22:42:59 +0000 (23:42 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Small Bodies of Water"

4 months agoAdd an entry for "The Martian"
Alex Chan [Fri, 27 Aug 2021 19:19:29 +0000 (20:19 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Martian"

4 months agoAdd an entry for Moominpappa at Sea
Alex Chan [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 07:42:28 +0000 (08:42 +0100)]
Add an entry for Moominpappa at Sea

5 months agoAdd an entry for "Klara and the Sun"
Alex Chan [Fri, 13 Aug 2021 12:39:09 +0000 (13:39 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Klara and the Sun"

5 months agotweak the image to reduce jpeg artefacts in the thumbnail
Alex Chan [Fri, 13 Aug 2021 12:26:11 +0000 (13:26 +0100)]
tweak the image to reduce jpeg artefacts in the thumbnail

5 months agoAdd a cover for "Klara and the Sun"
Alex Chan [Fri, 13 Aug 2021 12:21:25 +0000 (13:21 +0100)]
Add a cover for "Klara and the Sun"

5 months agoMerge branch 'development' of helene.linode:/mnt/repos/books.alexwlchan.net into...
Alex Chan [Sun, 8 Aug 2021 22:04:27 +0000 (23:04 +0100)]
Merge branch 'development' of helene.linode:/mnt/repos/books.alexwlchan.net into development

5 months agotweak the vela
Alex Chan [Sun, 8 Aug 2021 22:04:14 +0000 (23:04 +0100)]
tweak the vela

5 months agoAdd an entry for "The Pirate Planet"
Alex Chan [Wed, 4 Aug 2021 08:37:04 +0000 (09:37 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Pirate Planet"

5 months agoAdd an entry for "The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz"
Alex Chan [Wed, 28 Jul 2021 07:02:54 +0000 (08:02 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz"

5 months agoUse the new link to Tessa Thornton's book tracker
Alex Chan [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 16:12:20 +0000 (17:12 +0100)]
Use the new link to Tessa Thornton's book tracker

5 months agoAdd an entry for "Black and British"
Alex Chan [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 16:11:15 +0000 (17:11 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Black and British"

5 months agotweak the appearance on small screens
Alex Chan [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 09:00:35 +0000 (10:00 +0100)]
tweak the appearance on small screens

6 months agoAdd an entry for "The Vela"
Alex Chan [Sun, 18 Jul 2021 17:49:27 +0000 (18:49 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Vela"

6 months agoAdd an entry for "Comet in Moominland"
Alex Chan [Sat, 17 Jul 2021 06:46:50 +0000 (07:46 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Comet in Moominland"

6 months agoSupport "illustrator" as a contributor type
Alex Chan [Sat, 10 Jul 2021 07:52:33 +0000 (08:52 +0100)]
Support "illustrator" as a contributor type

6 months agoAdd an entry for "Digging for Words"
Alex Chan [Sat, 10 Jul 2021 07:52:24 +0000 (08:52 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Digging for Words"

6 months agoadd a quick entry for the kabuliwallah
Alex Chan [Mon, 5 Jul 2021 20:12:10 +0000 (21:12 +0100)]
add a quick entry for the kabuliwallah

6 months agoonly count books I finished
Alex Chan [Mon, 5 Jul 2021 20:12:03 +0000 (21:12 +0100)]
only count books I finished

6 months agoAdd an entry for Finn Family Moomintroll
Alex Chan [Sat, 3 Jul 2021 00:25:28 +0000 (01:25 +0100)]
Add an entry for Finn Family Moomintroll

6 months agoAdd a review for "Going Postal"
Alex Chan [Fri, 2 Jul 2021 22:30:07 +0000 (23:30 +0100)]
Add a review for "Going Postal"

6 months agoTweak "The Woman in Cabin 10"
Alex Chan [Sun, 27 Jun 2021 22:20:01 +0000 (23:20 +0100)]
Tweak "The Woman in Cabin 10"

6 months agoTweak the review page on small screens
Alex Chan [Sun, 27 Jun 2021 22:09:08 +0000 (23:09 +0100)]
Tweak the review page on small screens

6 months agoAdd an entry for "The Woman in Cabin 10"
Alex Chan [Sun, 27 Jun 2021 22:09:00 +0000 (23:09 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Woman in Cabin 10"

Plus removing JPEG artifacts from the cover image.

6 months agoAdd a stub entry for "The Woman in Cabin 10"
Alex Chan [Sun, 27 Jun 2021 21:33:08 +0000 (22:33 +0100)]
Add a stub entry for "The Woman in Cabin 10"

6 months agoTweak the background colour of 5-star books
Alex Chan [Sun, 27 Jun 2021 21:19:50 +0000 (22:19 +0100)]
Tweak the background colour of 5-star books

6 months agoAdd a review of "The Only Plane in the Sky"
Alex Chan [Fri, 25 Jun 2021 22:16:58 +0000 (23:16 +0100)]
Add a review of "The Only Plane in the Sky"

7 months agoAdd a review of "The Underground Railroad"
Alex Chan [Mon, 21 Jun 2021 21:40:29 +0000 (22:40 +0100)]
Add a review of "The Underground Railroad"

7 months agoAdd a review for "Loveless"
Alex Chan [Mon, 14 Jun 2021 00:13:25 +0000 (01:13 +0100)]
Add a review for "Loveless"

7 months agoAdd a review of "Atomic Habits"
Alex Chan [Sun, 6 Jun 2021 08:48:58 +0000 (09:48 +0100)]
Add a review of "Atomic Habits"

7 months agoAdd a tiny border around books on the review list
Alex Chan [Sun, 6 Jun 2021 08:48:51 +0000 (09:48 +0100)]
Add a tiny border around books on the review list

8 months agolet's link to the tweet
Alex Chan [Tue, 18 May 2021 22:36:06 +0000 (23:36 +0100)]
let's link to the tweet

8 months agoAdd a link to where I found this book
Alex Chan [Tue, 18 May 2021 22:35:35 +0000 (23:35 +0100)]
Add a link to where I found this book

8 months agoAdd an entry for Gender Swapped Fairy Tales
Alex Chan [Tue, 18 May 2021 22:33:55 +0000 (23:33 +0100)]
Add an entry for Gender Swapped Fairy Tales

8 months agoAdd an entry for "How to Fly a Plane"
Alex Chan [Sat, 15 May 2021 19:43:04 +0000 (20:43 +0100)]
Add an entry for "How to Fly a Plane"

8 months agoAdd an entry for the first Moomin book
Alex Chan [Mon, 3 May 2021 16:54:45 +0000 (17:54 +0100)]
Add an entry for the first Moomin book

8 months agoDon't say "did not finish" twice on review pages
Alex Chan [Sun, 2 May 2021 07:34:48 +0000 (08:34 +0100)]
Don't say "did not finish" twice on review pages

8 months agoAdd an entry for "Curious and Interesting Numbers"
Alex Chan [Sun, 2 May 2021 07:34:40 +0000 (08:34 +0100)]
Add an entry for "Curious and Interesting Numbers"

8 months agoAdd a review of Railsea
Alex Chan [Wed, 28 Apr 2021 22:05:14 +0000 (23:05 +0100)]
Add a review of Railsea

8 months agoAdd a quick note about "The Last Lingua France"
Alex Chan [Sun, 25 Apr 2021 19:13:44 +0000 (20:13 +0100)]
Add a quick note about "The Last Lingua France"

9 months agoAdd an entry for "The Galaxy and the Ground Within"
Alex Chan [Sat, 17 Apr 2021 20:46:26 +0000 (21:46 +0100)]
Add an entry for "The Galaxy and the Ground Within"

9 months agoAdd a brief review for Programmed Inequality
Alex Chan [Wed, 31 Mar 2021 16:21:11 +0000 (17:21 +0100)]
Add a brief review for Programmed Inequality

9 months agoLink to a tweet about "Unicorn"
Alex Chan [Sun, 28 Mar 2021 15:02:05 +0000 (16:02 +0100)]
Link to a tweet about "Unicorn"

9 months agoAdd an entry for "Solutions and Other Problems"
Alex Chan [Tue, 23 Mar 2021 22:37:12 +0000 (22:37 +0000)]
Add an entry for "Solutions and Other Problems"

10 months agoAdd an entry for "Captain Corelli's Mandolin"
Alex Chan [Sun, 21 Mar 2021 15:19:43 +0000 (15:19 +0000)]
Add an entry for "Captain Corelli's Mandolin"

10 months agoAdd a review of "The Cyberiad"
Alex Chan [Mon, 15 Mar 2021 08:43:54 +0000 (08:43 +0000)]
Add a review of "The Cyberiad"

10 months agoReview "Mathematics and Politics"
Alex Chan [Fri, 12 Mar 2021 23:07:01 +0000 (23:07 +0000)]
Review "Mathematics and Politics"

10 months agoAdd a quick review of "Disability Visibility"
Alex Chan [Fri, 5 Mar 2021 09:15:57 +0000 (09:15 +0000)]
Add a quick review of "Disability Visibility"

10 months agoAllow specifying an editor as well as/instead of an author
Alex Chan [Fri, 5 Mar 2021 09:12:34 +0000 (09:12 +0000)]
Allow specifying an editor as well as/instead of an author

10 months agoAdd a review for Pride and Prejudice
Alex Chan [Sun, 28 Feb 2021 10:47:27 +0000 (10:47 +0000)]
Add a review for Pride and Prejudice

11 months agoI've read the Colossus book
Alex Chan [Sun, 7 Feb 2021 02:18:57 +0000 (02:18 +0000)]
I've read the Colossus book