junkdrawer
3 weeks agomove add_sierra_check_digit to a rust binary development
Alex Chan [Sat, 4 Sep 2021 06:43:29 +0000 (07:43 +0100)]
move add_sierra_check_digit to a rust binary

3 weeks agoauto-kill nomad whenever I'm running a terminal window
Alex Chan [Fri, 3 Sep 2021 09:46:55 +0000 (10:46 +0100)]
auto-kill nomad whenever I'm running a terminal window

3 weeks agohandle prompt on linode
Alex Chan [Fri, 3 Sep 2021 09:26:28 +0000 (09:26 +0000)]
handle prompt on linode

3 weeks agoSimplify my fish prompt
Alex Chan [Fri, 3 Sep 2021 09:21:26 +0000 (10:21 +0100)]
Simplify my fish prompt

5 months agoExplode the running file
Alex Chan [Sun, 25 Apr 2021 20:49:04 +0000 (21:49 +0100)]
Explode the running file

5 months agoAdd manhattan.py
Alex Chan [Sun, 25 Apr 2021 20:46:31 +0000 (21:46 +0100)]
Add manhattan.py

5 months agoAdd a script for finding apps that are using Secure Input
Alex Chan [Sun, 4 Apr 2021 18:41:19 +0000 (19:41 +0100)]
Add a script for finding apps that are using Secure Input

5 months agoAdd a couple of useful path scripts
Alex Chan [Sat, 24 Apr 2021 20:49:27 +0000 (21:49 +0100)]
Add a couple of useful path scripts

6 months agoAdd a couple more path scripts
Alex Chan [Sat, 27 Mar 2021 16:43:00 +0000 (16:43 +0000)]
Add a couple more path scripts

8 months agoRemove some commented-out code
Alex Chan [Tue, 5 Jan 2021 10:49:47 +0000 (10:49 +0000)]
Remove some commented-out code

8 months agoAdd my script for fixing Scala imports
Alex Chan [Tue, 5 Jan 2021 10:49:38 +0000 (10:49 +0000)]
Add my script for fixing Scala imports

9 months agoFix fishconfig properly, and Python 3 completions
Alex Chan [Thu, 10 Dec 2020 08:09:07 +0000 (08:09 +0000)]
Fix fishconfig properly, and Python 3 completions

9 months agoIf there are bad word count tags, print them!
Alex Chan [Thu, 10 Dec 2020 08:08:14 +0000 (08:08 +0000)]
If there are bad word count tags, print them!

9 months agoFix fishconfig on my iMac
Alex Chan [Thu, 10 Dec 2020 08:07:59 +0000 (08:07 +0000)]
Fix fishconfig on my iMac

9 months agoDate the Pinboard backups; skip getting the wget caches myself
Alex Chan [Sun, 6 Dec 2020 10:01:48 +0000 (10:01 +0000)]
Date the Pinboard backups; skip getting the wget caches myself

9 months agoSave Pinboard to the external drive; tar up AO3 exports
Alex Chan [Sun, 6 Dec 2020 00:57:45 +0000 (00:57 +0000)]
Save Pinboard to the external drive; tar up AO3 exports

9 months agotar up my pinboard backups
Alex Chan [Sun, 6 Dec 2020 00:31:49 +0000 (00:31 +0000)]
tar up my pinboard backups

I don't need to access these files very often (if ever), and they
definitely don't need to be unpacked.  This brings the number of files on
disk down from ~500k ~> ~10k, which is way easier for all sorts of reasons.

11 months agoThis script has moved into the storage service
Alex Chan [Fri, 23 Oct 2020 11:49:10 +0000 (12:49 +0100)]
This script has moved into the storage service

11 months agoAdd ttml2srt to my PATH variable
Alex Chan [Sun, 18 Oct 2020 09:47:48 +0000 (10:47 +0100)]
Add ttml2srt to my PATH variable

11 months agoUse the newest virtualfish and Python
Alex Chan [Sun, 18 Oct 2020 09:28:59 +0000 (10:28 +0100)]
Use the newest virtualfish and Python

11 months agoRemove some unused Dockerfiles
Alex Chan [Sun, 18 Oct 2020 09:28:50 +0000 (10:28 +0100)]
Remove some unused Dockerfiles

11 months agoAdd an association for Dockerfiles in TextMate
Alex Chan [Sun, 18 Oct 2020 09:28:31 +0000 (10:28 +0100)]
Add an association for Dockerfiles in TextMate

11 months agoreborder.py uses brew ImageMagick, not Docker
Alex Chan [Sun, 18 Oct 2020 09:28:14 +0000 (10:28 +0100)]
reborder.py uses brew ImageMagick, not Docker

11 months agoAdd a script to open private browsing
Alex Chan [Sun, 18 Oct 2020 09:27:38 +0000 (10:27 +0100)]
Add a script to open private browsing

11 months agoPush it all down into a wallpapers subfolder
Alex Chan [Sat, 4 Jul 2020 06:27:08 +0000 (07:27 +0100)]
Push it all down into a wallpapers subfolder

11 months agoAdd some code for making rainbow iPhone wallpapers
Alex Chan [Sat, 4 Jul 2020 06:26:36 +0000 (07:26 +0100)]
Add some code for making rainbow iPhone wallpapers

11 months agoAdd a quick script for getting play count histogram
Alex Chan [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 08:30:16 +0000 (09:30 +0100)]
Add a quick script for getting play count histogram

11 months agoAdd a script for finding dupe tracks in iTunes
Alex Chan [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 08:12:41 +0000 (09:12 +0100)]
Add a script for finding dupe tracks in iTunes

11 months agoUse the country code when getting iTunes metadata
Alex Chan [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 08:12:31 +0000 (09:12 +0100)]
Use the country code when getting iTunes metadata

13 months agoRemove some commented-out code
Alex Chan [Wed, 5 Aug 2020 12:25:41 +0000 (13:25 +0100)]
Remove some commented-out code

13 months agoAdd a script for warming/cooling the storage service
Alex Chan [Wed, 5 Aug 2020 12:24:41 +0000 (13:24 +0100)]
Add a script for warming/cooling the storage service

13 months agoKeep a single copy of Terraform plugins
Alex Chan [Sat, 1 Aug 2020 07:41:04 +0000 (08:41 +0100)]
Keep a single copy of Terraform plugins

14 months agoHighlight queues with DLQ entries
Alex Chan [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 10:30:59 +0000 (11:30 +0100)]
Highlight queues with DLQ entries

14 months agoAdd a quick SQS dashboard
Alex Chan [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 10:27:34 +0000 (11:27 +0100)]
Add a quick SQS dashboard

14 months agoRemove the Twine Dockerfile
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jul 2020 16:33:52 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Remove the Twine Dockerfile

14 months agoFix virtualfish in Python 3.8
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jul 2020 16:33:43 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Fix virtualfish in Python 3.8

14 months agoAdd a script to hide blue ticks on Twitter
Alex Chan [Thu, 16 Jul 2020 20:53:41 +0000 (21:53 +0100)]
Add a script to hide blue ticks on Twitter

14 months agoInclude the slug in the deviantART backup paths; sort into per-artist dirs
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Jul 2020 19:06:12 +0000 (20:06 +0100)]
Include the slug in the deviantART backup paths; sort into per-artist dirs

16 months agoStrip out all the MD5-related login code
Alex Chan [Sun, 3 May 2020 09:15:32 +0000 (10:15 +0100)]
Strip out all the MD5-related login code

Dreamwidth recently removed the use of MD5 for logins, in favour of
sending passwords encrypted with HTTPS.  This means I can simplify the
code that accesses Dreamwidth and the API.

See:

https://dw-dev.dreamwidth.org/221358.html
https://dw-dev.dreamwidth.org/221167.html

17 months agoAdd a script for renaming files based on TVDB metadata
Alex Chan [Mon, 27 Apr 2020 20:22:10 +0000 (21:22 +0100)]
Add a script for renaming files based on TVDB metadata

17 months agoAdd a script for downloading all episodes from iPlayer
Alex Chan [Mon, 27 Apr 2020 20:03:13 +0000 (21:03 +0100)]
Add a script for downloading all episodes from iPlayer

17 months agoRemove optipng as a Docker resource
Alex Chan [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 20:19:07 +0000 (21:19 +0100)]
Remove optipng as a Docker resource

17 months agoAdd my pytest.raises snippet
Alex Chan [Sat, 11 Apr 2020 10:17:58 +0000 (11:17 +0100)]
Add my pytest.raises snippet

18 months agoAdd a script for generating random passwords
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Mar 2020 08:54:11 +0000 (08:54 +0000)]
Add a script for generating random passwords

19 months agoAdd a script for tailing CloudWatch events
Alex Chan [Fri, 28 Feb 2020 08:10:58 +0000 (08:10 +0000)]
Add a script for tailing CloudWatch events

19 months agostart checking in textmate snippets
Alex Chan [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 08:24:36 +0000 (08:24 +0000)]
start checking in textmate snippets

19 months agoDon't call imagemagick from Docker
Alex Chan [Wed, 19 Feb 2020 10:33:36 +0000 (10:33 +0000)]
Don't call imagemagick from Docker

20 months agoAdd my backblaze exclusions script
Alex Chan [Wed, 29 Jan 2020 09:47:05 +0000 (09:47 +0000)]
Add my backblaze exclusions script

20 months agoAdd a script to remove broken venvs
Alex Chan [Tue, 28 Jan 2020 08:16:53 +0000 (08:16 +0000)]
Add a script to remove broken venvs

20 months agobiggest artwork!
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 18:24:33 +0000 (18:24 +0000)]
biggest artwork!

20 months agoGet bigger artwork from iTunes
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 18:23:03 +0000 (18:23 +0000)]
Get bigger artwork from iTunes

20 months agoRemove a couple of unused Docker images
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 15:00:54 +0000 (15:00 +0000)]
Remove a couple of unused Docker images

20 months agoGrab the AO3 imports as a top-level item
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 15:00:29 +0000 (15:00 +0000)]
Grab the AO3 imports as a top-level item

20 months agoUse concurrent.futures to speed up Pinboard backups
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 14:45:13 +0000 (14:45 +0000)]
Use concurrent.futures to speed up Pinboard backups

20 months agoStart grabbing wget copies of my Pinboard archive
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 14:31:06 +0000 (14:31 +0000)]
Start grabbing wget copies of my Pinboard archive

20 months agoCheck for balanced curly quotes in the text_transforms.py
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 14:01:13 +0000 (14:01 +0000)]
Check for balanced curly quotes in the text_transforms.py

20 months agoFix dashes in the cleanup_pinboard.py script
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 14:00:11 +0000 (14:00 +0000)]
Fix dashes in the cleanup_pinboard.py script

20 months agoFix a deprecated logging message in this script
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 10:42:26 +0000 (10:42 +0000)]
Fix a deprecated logging message in this script

20 months agoAdd a script for finding ECS bottlenecks
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 10:40:49 +0000 (10:40 +0000)]
Add a script for finding ECS bottlenecks

20 months agoAdd what little Advent-of-Code stuff I have
Alex Chan [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 10:40:22 +0000 (10:40 +0000)]
Add what little Advent-of-Code stuff I have

20 months agoCheck in a script I wrote for Trudy
Alex Chan [Sat, 18 Jan 2020 06:41:43 +0000 (06:41 +0000)]
Check in a script I wrote for Trudy

20 months agoAdd a script for editing the Archivematica DB
Alex Chan [Wed, 15 Jan 2020 10:08:50 +0000 (10:08 +0000)]
Add a script for editing the Archivematica DB

20 months agoAllow ssh'ing into a host without a public IP/DNS
Alex Chan [Tue, 14 Jan 2020 15:40:18 +0000 (15:40 +0000)]
Allow ssh'ing into a host without a public IP/DNS

20 months agoRemove the aws Docker image
Alex Chan [Mon, 13 Jan 2020 12:06:06 +0000 (12:06 +0000)]
Remove the aws Docker image

You get much better CPU/network performance if you call the tool
directly, rather than going via Docker.

20 months agoFix more Pinboard encoding issues
Alex Chan [Sat, 11 Jan 2020 08:35:24 +0000 (08:35 +0000)]
Fix more Pinboard encoding issues

20 months agoWhen prepping for iTunes, ask the user about ambiguous tracks
Alex Chan [Fri, 10 Jan 2020 21:34:49 +0000 (21:34 +0000)]
When prepping for iTunes, ask the user about ambiguous tracks

20 months agoBetter check for already authorised when creating an SSH tunnel
Alex Chan [Tue, 7 Jan 2020 17:01:43 +0000 (17:01 +0000)]
Better check for already authorised when creating an SSH tunnel

The entire Wellcome IP range is allowed to access the bastion hosts, but
the individual IP addresses aren't.  This causes a bit of churn in those
security groups; better checking if we're already auth'd fixes that.

20 months agoRemove a bunch of unnecessary whitespace
Alex Chan [Tue, 7 Jan 2020 15:59:10 +0000 (15:59 +0000)]
Remove a bunch of unnecessary whitespace

20 months agoUse the new repo for Twitter scripts
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 15:52:50 +0000 (15:52 +0000)]
Use the new repo for Twitter scripts

20 months agoSkip EC2 instances that are terminated
Alex Chan [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 14:22:41 +0000 (14:22 +0000)]
Skip EC2 instances that are terminated

20 months agoJust use vanilla cloc, not in a Docker image
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Jan 2020 23:04:11 +0000 (23:04 +0000)]
Just use vanilla cloc, not in a Docker image

20 months agoImprove the matching logic in the iTunes lookup script
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Jan 2020 18:49:18 +0000 (18:49 +0000)]
Improve the matching logic in the iTunes lookup script

20 months agoAdd a script for preparing a folder of MP3s for iTunes
Alex Chan [Wed, 1 Jan 2020 18:37:34 +0000 (18:37 +0000)]
Add a script for preparing a folder of MP3s for iTunes

20 months agoAdd a link to the screencast of the tweet
Alex Chan [Mon, 30 Dec 2019 23:31:42 +0000 (23:31 +0000)]
Add a link to the screencast of the tweet

20 months agoAdd my Google Sheets macro for cell colours
Alex Chan [Mon, 30 Dec 2019 23:24:30 +0000 (23:24 +0000)]
Add my Google Sheets macro for cell colours

21 months agoHandle encoding issues in my Pinboard bookmarks
Alex Chan [Sat, 28 Dec 2019 15:26:15 +0000 (15:26 +0000)]
Handle encoding issues in my Pinboard bookmarks

21 months agoAdd scripts installed with "pip3 install --user" to $PATH
Alex Chan [Sat, 21 Dec 2019 00:50:58 +0000 (00:50 +0000)]
Add scripts installed with "pip3 install --user" to $PATH

21 months agoDon't use youtube-dl via Docker, just get it from pip
Alex Chan [Sat, 21 Dec 2019 00:50:13 +0000 (00:50 +0000)]
Don't use youtube-dl via Docker, just get it from pip

21 months agoOkay, I can search the Calm API
Alex Chan [Mon, 16 Dec 2019 14:35:12 +0000 (14:35 +0000)]
Okay, I can search the Calm API

21 months agoAdd a small Java/S3 StorageClass repro
Alex Chan [Mon, 16 Dec 2019 08:24:31 +0000 (08:24 +0000)]
Add a small Java/S3 StorageClass repro

21 months agoAdd some scripts for Pinboard tag counts
Alex Chan [Sat, 14 Dec 2019 15:50:49 +0000 (15:50 +0000)]
Add some scripts for Pinboard tag counts

21 months agoAdd a shortcut for triggering an Overcast backup
Alex Chan [Sat, 14 Dec 2019 08:02:55 +0000 (08:02 +0000)]
Add a shortcut for triggering an Overcast backup

21 months agoTweak the mailer script
Alex Chan [Tue, 10 Dec 2019 11:00:27 +0000 (11:00 +0000)]
Tweak the mailer script

21 months agoAdd a script to get publication dates for Alice W
Alex Chan [Tue, 10 Dec 2019 11:00:18 +0000 (11:00 +0000)]
Add a script to get publication dates for Alice W

21 months agoAdd an SSH tunnelling script
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 19:27:13 +0000 (19:27 +0000)]
Add an SSH tunnelling script

21 months agoAdd a link to the Apple Support thread
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 15:41:50 +0000 (15:41 +0000)]
Add a link to the Apple Support thread

21 months agoAdd a script for embedding PDF fonts
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 15:40:29 +0000 (15:40 +0000)]
Add a script for embedding PDF fonts

21 months agoRemove some unused fish shell shortcuts
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 15:09:41 +0000 (15:09 +0000)]
Remove some unused fish shell shortcuts

21 months agoAdd the GIF slicer script
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 15:06:56 +0000 (15:06 +0000)]
Add the GIF slicer script

21 months agoRemove tfdiff.py; it's obsolete with terraform 0.12
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 10:38:53 +0000 (10:38 +0000)]
Remove tfdiff.py; it's obsolete with terraform 0.12

21 months agoAnd handle movie bundles
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 10:38:23 +0000 (10:38 +0000)]
And handle movie bundles

21 months agoAllow getting the iTunes txt from anywhere, add docstring
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 10:27:20 +0000 (10:27 +0000)]
Allow getting the iTunes txt from anywhere, add docstring

21 months agoAlso support TV shows
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 10:15:14 +0000 (10:15 +0000)]
Also support TV shows

21 months agoAdd a script for looking up movies in iTunes
Alex Chan [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 10:05:15 +0000 (10:05 +0000)]
Add a script for looking up movies in iTunes

21 months agoImprove rendering of cache IDs
Alex Chan [Sat, 30 Nov 2019 20:31:39 +0000 (20:31 +0000)]
Improve rendering of cache IDs

22 months agoAdd a minimal example for a confusing ureq behaviour
Alex Chan [Mon, 4 Nov 2019 10:24:58 +0000 (10:24 +0000)]
Add a minimal example for a confusing ureq behaviour

22 months agoRemove a pile of Twitter backup code, which has moved to a new repo
Alex Chan [Sun, 3 Nov 2019 21:41:45 +0000 (21:41 +0000)]
Remove a pile of Twitter backup code, which has moved to a new repo

22 months agoRemove this README; that repo is now private
Alex Chan [Sun, 3 Nov 2019 12:23:28 +0000 (12:23 +0000)]
Remove this README; that repo is now private

23 months agoAdd a script for getting a tweet as a Markdown quote
Alex Chan [Mon, 28 Oct 2019 07:25:43 +0000 (07:25 +0000)]
Add a script for getting a tweet as a Markdown quote

23 months agoAdd a shell script for converting svg_to_png
Alex Chan [Tue, 22 Oct 2019 14:31:12 +0000 (15:31 +0100)]
Add a shell script for converting svg_to_png